“Tiny But Eternal”

“I also remember thinking that these men know something about music I’ll never know, even if I practice and study all my life. You have to be born into it. That way, every note and word and gesture has meaning, and your notes and sung words line up with those of your friends and make a whole statement about life that is tiny but eternal.”

— Ry Cooder on the passing of Doc Watson in today’s NYT. A glance back at the UCLA Folk Festival, 1963

(image via Amazon.com)

2 thoughts on ““Tiny But Eternal”

  1. I have that album home. I was glad to find this on your blog. I love Doc Watson, the late Doc Watson. Of course I can’t play like him, but I (we) can try to emulate his standard for excellence.

    • Precisely! I’m so glad to hear that.
      I hope you get a chance to click over and read the Ry Cooder remembrance of him in its entirety. A glimpse of a last moment here … Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

