Fire Trails and Miles’ Eye

Just a few more from Altadena/La Cañada:



(I have the black and white version up over here)

(the beautiful San Gabriels)

This last one is almost impossible to make out, but the friend who sent me on this hike said: “When you go on the trail, look for Miles Davis.” I thought it was a metaphor (or euphemism — or some such). First thing he asked after I told him I’d tackled it: “Did you see Miles Davis?” I hadn’t: But when I went back, I finally discerned what he was referencing. There’s just a little bit of a faded eye left just above the graffiti’d tunnel. As he said: “I aways thought it was a strange place for a Miles Davis poster.”:

(you can barely see it, but look at the center of the frame … like reading hieroglyphs)

Leave a Reply

