Navigating toward a new sense of home …

“If I could have fashioned a model of my own imagination, perhaps it would have resembled the telescope my father was working on: heavy, made of steel and glass, and run through with lenses …pointing off into a distance that had no shape. Perhaps there would sit, at the outer edges of that distance, something I was afraid to bring into focus, some knowledge or presence, the power or verity of which might cause the rest of me to cower. It felt like that sometimes, like there were limits to what I would let myself understand, limits to the whole to which I’d give myself access. I was ten years old, living with a vague knowledge that pain was part of my birthright, part of what was meant by a word like Home.”

— from “Ordinary Light” by Tracy K. Smith.

I’ll be in conversation with Tracy K. Smith tomorrow at ALOUD. Details and ticket information here:

Leave a Reply

